2011 Contest

Video from the Mahato Memorial Event

Here is a slide show of the finalists featured in Duke Today.



2011 Winners announced

Thank you to everyone who came out to see Nickolay's wonderful lecture on Wednesday and to everyone who helped make this year's event such a success!  If you missed the lecture, it will be available on the web shortly.


1st place - Mike Balajewicz - Duke Graduate Student in MEMS

lamp Compact Fluorescent Lamp





2nd Place - Hunter Douglas - Duke Undergraduate in Civil Engineering

surface tension Surface Tension




3rd Place - Taylor Lu - Duke Medical School student

diabetes   Insulin sensitive tissue




People's Choice - Yinghi Zhang - Duke Graduate Student in Physics

fermi atoms Cold Fermi Atoms





View Finalist Images Submitted from the 2011 Contest

Thanks to everyone who submitted a photo to this year's event!  We received lots of great entries.  The judges have narrowed down the field to the following finalists for display and voting for the People's Choice Award.